Ice Dams, slate roof, and parapets in... Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Slate Roof Central Message Board » Ice and Water Membrane, Plywood, and other Controversies » Ice Dams, slate roof, and parapets in Chinook Country? « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Anonymous
Posted on Saturday, December 24, 2005 - 03:24 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I'm a novice looking at building a house, with SIPS roof R40, ICF walls, want slate on top, but have castle-like parapets at base of entire roof perimeter, slopes 7/12 and steeper. Potential for snow drifts/ice dams at base of roof at parapets. Weather in Chinook country is cold two weeks, then Chinook comes in and snow melts, but potential for increasing ice in evenings. Good luck my finding a slater in these parts.

I understand increase overlap of slates in lower areas, ensure Rosin over any perimeter Ice/Watershield, extend metal flashing (i.e. copper)higher up under roof edge along perimeter(this metal should be over the Rosin, with the Rosin on top of the Ice/Watershied?), consider heat tape. Is it better to use 1/2" slate at lowermost part of roof (to reduce crmbling of the slate due to repetitive freeze-thaw cycles)
Any other recommendations to maintain longevity of the slate and to reduce impact of piling up snow and ice?

Anonymous
Posted on Saturday, December 24, 2005 - 04:02 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

The parapets are boxed, from 9" to 33" in height leading up from the top of roof. I've heard Tri-Flex 30 would be a useful product over any Ice/Watershield instead of Rosin, or on top of it?
Should I be putting a more solid wood base on top of the OBS SIPS?

admin