EXPERT SLATERS please explain the "Di... Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Slate Roof Central Message Board » Slate Roofs » EXPERT SLATERS please explain the "Diamond" pattern « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Thomas Massie
Posted on Thursday, August 31, 2006 - 08:47 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

First disclaimer:
I am not a professional slater
Second disclaimer:
This isn't the exact layout I used on my outhouse.
Third disclaimer:
I wouldn't let anyone nail this to your house unless they have done this before and understand why it might or might not work. Personally I would like to see a little more headlap than what is depicted here. a 22" slate would solve the problem, but then again, I don't think 22x10 is a standard slate size, so you'd have to cut slates or special order them, or try to make this diagram work with a 22x11.

But you asked, and I'm game, so here is my best guess as to how you might layout a hexagonal pattern with 20x10 slates... I hope this helps you get the discussion started, because I can't provide any more bad advice beyond this. :)

LAyout Diagram

Anne B. Horton
Posted on Wednesday, August 30, 2006 - 09:55 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Tom,
Okay, your picture helps tremendously. Now, if I have a 10 inch wide slate, with a 30 degree cut at each bottom, how long is the slate so that all exposed areas are equal in length??? How does this work?

Thank you very much ahead of time!!!!
Anne

Thomas Massie
Posted on Tuesday, August 29, 2006 - 09:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Anne,