Installing slate on a vertical surface Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Slate Roof Central Message Board » Slate Roofs » Installing slate on a vertical surface « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

E Baker
Posted on Monday, March 20, 2006 - 11:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

i am an architect interested in installing slate shingles as a vertical serface on an existing building. we have planned for 12x18 shingles with a 2" headlap leaving 8x12 as the exposed shingle size. i have been reading entries and comments on this site because i read the old "slate roofs" booklet that calls for plastic cement. it seems that this is not the preferred method of attaching shingles that will have exposed nails otherwise. in a verticle application, how do you recommend installing the uppermost shingles without exposed nailholes? or must the holes be exposed and some sort of caulk used?

this is about an eight square job. will any other special tools be required other than slater's hammers and a slate cutter?

i would also appreciate any other comments regarding installing slate on a verticle surface and managing relatively inexperienced workers.

Anonymous
Posted on Monday, March 20, 2006 - 01:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I wouldn't install slate if I couldn't have the appropriate headlap to cover the nail heads. Why, would you want to do that?

E Baker
Posted on Monday, March 20, 2006 - 02:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)