Box Gutter Help Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Slate Roof Central Message Board » Slate Roofs » Box Gutter Help « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Old_school (Old_school)
Username: Old_school

Post Number: 465
Posted on Tuesday, May 11, 2010 - 08:13 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I am not an expert at that, but why go thru the added expense of the stainless when you have the old Terne on the rest of it? If you were going to change everything, that would make sense to me, but since you are just going to patch an area it would seem like an added hassle and expense that is not going to benifit anyone!

Drsmith33 (Drsmith33)
Username: Drsmith33

Post Number: 6
Posted on Monday, May 10, 2010 - 10:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

So, I take it that riveting the patch would be alright?

Secondly, can you sweat terne coated Stainless to regular terne steel? Is it okay to do this?

Old_school (Old_school)

Post Number: 464
Posted on Monday, May 10, 2010 - 09:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Cleanliness is next to Godliness when working with old metals. You are going to have to take a angle grinder and wire wheel and buff it clean where ever you want to solder it. Hopefully it isn't so rusted or thin that you cut through it. I would use a brass wire wheel,a nd make sure and wear safety glasses. Crap tends to fly!

Drsmith33 (Drsmith33)

Post Number: 5
Posted on Monday, May 10, 2010 - 07:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Slate