New roofing technology Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Slate Roof Central Message Board » Slate Roofs » New roofing technology « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Jonma (Jonma)
Username: Jonma

Post Number: 5
Posted on Thursday, May 07, 2009 - 04:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hey Matt,

I'm not a roofing pro, but your idea sounds pretty neat! Have you actually designed and patented a system like this, or is this just theory stuff for the class?

The simplest kind of system I can imagine that works as you describe would be something that can switch between a black and white roof. Black to absorb heat, white to reflect it.

When the roof is absorbing heat ("black"), is the heat somehow being actively radiated throughout the house? Or is it just heating the roof itself and relying on passive radiance to keep the house warm?

When the roof is deflecting heat ("white"), have you actually calculated that you'll have cooler temps in the living areas of the house? I mean, heat rises, right? Does a hot roof actually radiate enough heat down to the living areas to appreciably increase the temperature?

Also, when reflecting heat, where are you going to reflect it to? The sun moves throughout the day and year, so no matter how you position your reflective material, the reflected light/heat will be reflected off in different directions throughout the day. That might be a problem if the installation is near an airport, or even if the installed roof is anywhere near a taller structure. It wouldn't be much fun to have your neighbors roof turn into a spotlight at 11am every day shining into your windows. :p