New to slate roof - Identify what sla... Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Slate Roof Central Message Board » Slate Roofs » New to slate roof - Identify what slate is this? « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Mktbully (Mktbully)
Username: Mktbully

Post Number: 7
Posted on Thursday, February 12, 2009 - 09:41 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

i guess you can say i'm handy around the house.
i don't do this stuff by trade...but i've done plumbing work, installed kitchens, etc. so i guess it's my second job fixing stuff around the house. another thing i do is working on cars. welding, body work, engine repairs, etc etc.

thanks for the insight. don't worry...i know when i'm over my head so i'll call in a pro when the times come.

Slate_man (Slate_man)
Username: Slate_man

Post Number: 360
Posted on Thursday, February 12, 2009 - 05:34 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Dan what dose this mean Occupation: fixin stuff, I was just wondering. As far as your roof, I think your roof has a good amount of time before needing a full replacement up to 20 years or more. Know I have only seen three picture so that is what its based on. As far as the gutter Yes it copper that was paint, and when the roof is replaced, you should replace those at that time. Both can have repairs done if need. It is starting to show some delaminateing but that dosn't mean the roof isn't working, it just migth not look that good.

Mktbully (Mktbully)

Post Number: 6
Posted on Thursday, February 12, 2009 - 12:30 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)