Slate Hammer Practice Advice & Questi... Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Slate Roof Central Message Board » Slate Roofs » Slate Hammer Practice Advice & Questions « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Jeffrey C Stone
Username: Shrllc

Post Number: 17
Posted on Tuesday, December 30, 2008 - 06:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I believe in Stortz products all the way. I have found the knurled hammer face works very well to trim down the edge of a shingle which was cut just a little too wide. Tap, tap, tap along the back face and it provides the beveled edge we desire. The recessed cutout on the estwing is as others pointed out, for holding a nail; I have little experience with this brand of slate hammer. Joe mentions that they have magnets available, to hold the nail for you, The head on a roofing nail is too large for the opening; additionally here we only use copper slating nails, so not to take a chance with any conflicting corrosion between metals. The copper nails are obviously non-magnetic which would prohibit the use of a magnet even if the head fit in the cut out.

Roland Graham
Username: Rollythegoalie

Post Number: 8
Posted on Thursday, October 02, 2008 - 09:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Thanks for the slate hammer information!

Joe Jenkins
Username: Joe

Post Number: 327
Posted on Thursday, October 02, 2008 - 06:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

First off, you can't punch holes with a hammer in small pieces of slate. You have to punch the hole first, then cut the slate, or else use a slate cutter with a hole punch to punch holes in smaller slates.